2022 APTA Honors and Awards Recipients


APTA's Honors and Awards program celebrates outstanding achievements on the part of association members in the areas of overall accomplishment, education, practice and service, publications, research, and academic excellence. Award recipients were recognized with a ceremony and a reception hosted by the PT Fund on Sunday, August 14, in Washington D.C. at the Omni Shoreham Hotel. 

It is our pleasure to recognize the following members from the Academy of Aquatic Physical Therapy for receiving the following awards:

Dr. Yasser Salem, PT, Ph.D., MS

Dr. Salem was awarded the Lucy Blair Service Award. This recognition honors physical therapist members whose contributions to APTA are of exceptional quality. Dr. Salem is currently the founding DPT Program Director at Hofstra University and has been an educator for over 20 years. He is a board-certified Pediatric Clinical Specialist (PCS) and a board-certified Neurology Certified Clinical Specialist (NCS). He served our Aquatic section as co-editor of the journal for nine years and is currently a member of the Journal of Aquatic Physical Therapy's editorial board as a reviewer.

Holly Lookabaugh-Deur, PT, DSc

Holly was awarded the Henry O. and Florene P. Kendall Practice Award. This award recognizes a physical therapy professional who has engaged in extensive clinical practice for a minimum of 15 years. Recipients of this award embody and demonstrate a commitment to developing physical therapy as a caring profession. Holly is board certified as a geriatrics clinical specialist; a certified LSVT physical therapist, specializing in movement principles for lifelong management of Parkinson's disease; a certified wound-care specialist; and serves as a fall-prevention researcher for the Centers for Disease Control. Holly is also an instructor for the Clinical Competency Certificate in Aquatic Physical Therapy, as well as the instructor for the Aquatic Critical Thinking and Aquatic Interventions online course.

Dr. David Morris, PT, Ph.D., FAPTA

Dr. Morris was awarded the Marilyn Moffat Leadership Award. This honor is bestowed upon an individual held in high regard by his or her peers for distinguished leadership and significant contributions to the physical therapy profession and the association. He has held multiple leadership roles in several APTA components including being a member of the founding Executive Committee. In addition, he served two terms as President of the APTA Aquatic PT Section. He was the Co-Editor of Aquatic Rehabilitation, an outstanding aquatic therapy clinical textbook used as a resource by many aquatic therapists.

Congratulations to our 2022 award recipients! Your dedication to the profession of physical therapy, as well as to the Academy of Aquatic Physical Therapy, is greatly appreciated.



      Upcoming Events

      View All Events